State level charter review committee formed

A 5 member Shan State Constitutional Review Committee has been formed, according to sources in Taunggyi.

The committee held its first meeting yesterday, 25 September. No details have been disclosed at the time of this reporting.

The formation of the state level committee follows the formation of the Union level 109 member committee in July.

The members include:

  • Sai Kham Mart        Chairman, Deputy Speaker of Shan State Assembly
  • U Thaung Shwe       Member, MP for Kalaw township
  • Daw Cherry Kyi       Member, State Chief Justice
  • U Win Shwe            Member, Chief Law Officer (Retired)
  • Sai Kyaw Zam         Member, Director Law Department (Retired)

It is believed that other states and regions have also formed their own review committees.

Common demands from the populace so far include: Election of the state/region chief minister by the state/region legislature (and not by the President as stipulated in the constitution), Freedom of the Shan State government from the overlordship of the Union home ministry and more say in financial matters.


Allwebsitetools © 2014 Shan Herald Agency for News All Rights Reserved